May Update:

Since so much has been going on recently I thought I’d do a full update on goings on at Doo-Wop Dos HQ and fill you in on the all the latest news.

Herts Belles Workshop

W.I Workshop – I had a fantastic evening teaching more than 30 members of the Herts Belles (love their name) the art of the victory roll. These ladies are a branch of the W.I based in St Albans and they were brilliant students and there were some really great dos at the end of the night, plus this was definitely the biggest class I’ve ever had!

Styling up the Three BellesAlbum Launch – I attended the Three Belles album launch in London and styled up the lovely ladies for their performance that night. I went for matching victory rolls and then tailored each hairdo to reflect the girls tastes and personality so each girl got her own unique style. Betty loves her hair up so I went for a french pleat with pin curls, Gail is a big fan of the barrel roll and Dorothy loves her hair down in soft curls, to find out more about the girls complete with my styling pics check out the ‘about’ section of their website hereI also got too meet up with my friends Viv the Spiv and Charlie of Restoration CakeThe Belles were amazing as always and the album is fantastic too! You can buy the amazing ‘In Full Swing’ at thethreebelles.com/shop or download it from itunes, I LOVE my copy it’s fantastic! 

Spring Bride Shoot

Spring Bride Shoot – I joined forces with Mockford Photography again to shoot the latest bridal collection for Prior Engagement. The Spring Bride collection was something a little different as it had a 1920s and 1950s gown as well as the beautiful historical dresses Prior is so well known for. I had a great time creating the finger waved look for ‘Helena’ the 1920s/Downton Abbey inspired gown and another favourite was ‘Rosalind’ an 18th Century inspired gown that reminded me of scenes from ‘Much A Do About Nothing’.

The Pinup Academy

The Pinup Academy Shoot – I had a lot of fun styling up hair for stunning pin-up models October Divine & SINderella Rockafella for a shoot for their new venture The Pinup Academy.  It was a fantastic shoot full of classic cars, giggles, big pin curled hair and leopard print what more could you ask for!

Updo workshopNew Workshop – I get asked a lot about the pin curled updo I create for both customers and shoots so I’ve decided it’s time to do a workshop focusing on that look. I’ll be running the workshops at Tudor Rose fabric shop in Oakley (just 10 mins out of Bedford) in their lovely sewing room. You’ll learn to create this fantastic & wearable style AND learn to make the headscarf to finish off the look. I’ll be taking you through all the steps but a basic knowledge of machine sewing is needed but you can be a complete novice with the hair so don’t worry! First workshop runs July 25th, 7 -9pm & is £20, full info and how to book here.

Well think that’s all for now for May but I’m sure I’ve got plenty more to share with you all from June & we’re barely 2 weeks in!

doowopdo-signiture

Leave a Reply

