January Sewing Project

sew-and-save-posterSo after a wonderful and very busy Christmas and New Year I decided to take a little time off over January. However as I’m not great at sitting still, I like to be busy, I decided to start a little sewing project. Firstly I dug out all my clothes that needed mending and then I dug a little deeper into all the stuff I don’t wear and there was a lot of it! A lot of it was unworn because it’s damaged, or too big, small, short, long etc so in the spirit of ‘make do and mend’ I decided to re-work it all. I recorded my progress via pictures on my instagram account so here’s a little run down of the project so far. It was a little daunting at first but once I got going I really got into it.

First up was a great woollen plaid dress that had a bit of an awkwardly high neckline so it had been relegated to the back of the closet. However, as a skirt I’ve already worn it several times and it’s the perfect cold weather skirt when it’s teamed with cosy jumpers and thick tights. Here I teamed it with a favourite cardie that colour matched perfectly and I wore my red snood in my hair and did an S-curled fringe and victory rolls for some added vintage glamour.

photo 3

Next was a lovely Liberty print summer dress that had was missing some buttons but when cut down it made a great 1940s style skirt. I teamed it with a rolled fringe and victory roll hairstyle and wore a white blouse and my Nanna’s old faux fur coat that reminds me of a teddy bear, the perfect outfit for an afternoon visit to The Higgins, Bedford’s fab re-opened museum. I have a feeling this skirt will be a staple of my summer wardrobe. 

photo 2

The next re-made dress to skirt was a little trickier due to the button style front so I had to create a waistband from the rest of the material and that seemed to help with the fit. Once I tried it on I couldn’t help accessorizing it with a purple t-shirt and big hair for a bit of a Mad Madam Mim look, my favourite Disney villain! “Did I say no purple dragons, DID I???”

photo 1

My new project even solved my “what to wear on New Years Eve” dilemma, instead of my normal panic I just re-worked an old summer dress that I had never worn due to its strappy top not being very flattering. I turned the dress into a fuller skirt and teamed it with a great new rockabilly style cardigan and bag I was given by my parents for Christmas. I added a few bamboo bangles and made a flower crown  in matching colours to go with my big party hair.

photo 5

I love anything tiki themed and I have a big collection of tiki mugs these days so I’m often drawn to clothing with a tropical style print, anything with a bit of a Hawaiian feel. This particular skirt was cut down from one of my favourite dresses that had a t-shirt style top but I wanted to be able to wear it with other things so I could get more use out of it. As the weather was hideous that day I decided to dress brightly to cheer myself up and completed my look with a big vintage pineapple brooch, customised shoes with flowers and a poodle style updo complete with a bright headscarf.

photo 4

For most skirts it was a pretty simple process, I started by cutting off the top part, the top from this purple dress I turned into a tie top to wear with rolled up jeans. Then I would hand stitch or machine stitch a seam and then run some elastic through it to make it fit, easy peasy. I wore this skirt out to meet a friend for breakfast on Sunday so I accessorized it with a simple white t-shirt and my favourite vintage skunk brooch that was made by Avon in the 197os.

photo 2

The next skirt was cut down from a vintage 1980s dress that had never fitted too well and when the collar got damaged I decided to salvage what I could as I loved the print, it reminded me of Minnie Mouse. I wore it on a shopping trip and happened across some Disney Minnie Mouse ears in a charity shop, so of course I HAD to buy them to complete the outfit!

photo 1

I’m really enjoying sewing again and it’s great fun refreshing my wardrobe, I’ve even started to add a few matching bangles and novelty brooches to go with the skirts.

photo 3

I still have big pile of dresses to transform so to keep up-to-date with the rest of the project pop over to my Instagram account for more pics of sewing, out fit posts, hairstyling and everyday life. 

doowopdo-signiture

One thought on “January Sewing Project

  1. Pingback: Star Wars Day Part 2 (or 5) |

Leave a Reply

