Disney Day

My Disney inspire skirt looks from a previous blog post.

My Disney inspired skirt looks from a previous blog post.

Instagram has really re-awakened my love of Disney as my feed is constantly full of amazing Disney inspired outfits and make-up. Whether it’s posts of flawless make-up from thedisneylandprincess, venomousvanity‘s amazing Disney villain looks, shurlee_sweet‘s genius Disney inspired outfit posts or glimmerwood‘s incredible Frozen gowns, it all makes me want to dress up and sing with woodland creatures and since I do own a

enough animals to fill a small zoo (dog, ferrets, guinea pig, chinchilla and a skunk) plus Sarah does mean Princess I figured I’d give it a go.

My first step into a sort of Disney-esque cosplay was when I created a Mad Madam Mim & Minnie Mouse look as part of my January sewing project. This then resulted in a friend asking me to help her to create an outfit for a Disney themed hen night, so we created a Meg (Megara from Hercules) look with a purple jumpsuit we found in a charity shop, a bit of gold card and I styled her hair into a cartoon style complete with bouffant and curls.

Tea as Megara (Meg) from Hercules.

Tea as Megara (Meg) from Hercules.

So when my Disney loving friend Chrissy came over for the day we decided a girly day of makeovers where in order. My hair colour worked best for Snow White & Chrissy who is a brunette loves Belle so we started with those looks. The make-up and hair was inspired by the characters looks in the original animations but for simplicities sake we kept the clothes casual as just a nod to the outfits, although I do plan to do the full outfits at some point in the future. I wasn’t sure if this sort of thing had a name as Cosplay sort of suits it but as the looks are not intended to be accurate and are just my interpretation it didn’t really fit. However I did find the term DisneyBounding which refers to someone dressing up as a contemporary version of a Disney character and that fits a lot better.

Doing Chrissie's hair and make-up while we watch 'Tangled'.

Doing Chrissie’s hair and make-up while we watch ‘Tangled’. Spot the Minnie Mouse ears on the mirror 🙂

Belle and Snow White in progress.

Belle and Snow White in progress.

Belle in her yellow look.

Belle in her yellow look.

I became Snow White.

Hiding my fringe and creating a faux bob on my long hair to became Snow White.

My Snow White look.

My Snow White look.

With my tattoos this seems a bit more like my Snow White look! If anyone knows the original artist credit do let me know as I couldn't find it.

With my tattoos this seems a bit more like my Snow White look! If anyone knows the original artist credit do let me know as I couldn’t find it.

Several movies in, many cups of tea & a pizza later we decided to try playing about with a few wigs Chrissy had bought over and voila Belle becomes Ariel!

Chrissie in her Ariel outfit, hair, make-up & styling by me.

Chrissie in her Ariel outfit, hair, make-up & styling by me.

Using her Dingle Hopper to comb her hair.

Using her Dingle Hopper to comb her hair.


doowopdo-signiture

 

Leave a Reply

