Throwback Thursday

A few weeks ago I posted a picture of me circa 1999 on my Instagram account as part of #throwbackthursday, it got a huge response both on there and Facebook! In the picture I’m about 19 and I guess you’d say I was a Cyber Goth at this point, the picture was taken as part of a documentary a friend made about subculture in a small town that aired on ITV. At the time I was studying Art Foundation at College and had just discovered synthetic dreads. Having always been a BIG fan of bright hair there have been many years of hair experimentation and at 31 as I currently still have pillarbox red hair streaks in my hair it’s clearly going to be a life long love!

I only wish I had more picture from ‘back in the day’ but there was no Facebook (yes, I know NO Facebook!) and digital cameras weren’t that common plus the ones on phones were rubbish, I honestly look back now and wonder how I coped as I like to take a lot of pictures these days. So unfortunately I only have a few pics from those years, which is such a shame as I had some amazing hairstyles in those days.

So here you go, welcome to a little journey through my teenage, alternative, cyber goth, rockabilly, vintage and bright hair days, happy Throwback Thursday!

My Cyber ways circa 1999

My Cyber ways circa 1999. One of the pics I posted on Instagram.

Another Cyber pic.

Another Cyber pic.

Bright hair and a vintage sundress at my 6th form prom 1998? Gwen Stefani was a big influence in those days, dresses over trousers, bindis etc.

Bright hair and a vintage sundress at my 6th form prom 1998/99? Gwen Stefani was a big influence in those days, dresses over trousers, bindis etc.

Red & black hair  in 2006/7 (still my fave colour combo) during my Uni days. I was a big fan of the quiff then.

All rockabilly with Red & black hair in 2006/7 (still my fave colour combo) during my Brighton Uni days. I was a big fan of bandanas and quiffs back then. Just wish I had more pics…

Meeting Lola Lamour in 2008 my first ever Twinwood Festival just after I moved back to Bedford. I was setting my short bob in soft vintage curls.

Meeting Lola Lamour in 2008 my first ever Twinwood Festival. I was setting my short bob in classic setting patterns at this point.

Blue victory rolls and long hair extensions in 2010.

Blue victory rolls and long hair extensions in 2010.

There are still a few photos left to share so expect a few more retrospective hair posts from me in the coming months. I’d love to hear your thoughts/comments about the styles!doowopdo-signiture

One thought on “Throwback Thursday

  1. Sarah! I will HAVE to dig out my Glasto photos where you definitely had pink dreads and wore massive sunflowers in your hair – a job for a a rainy day – I will look them up!

Leave a Reply

