Vintage Life Magazine

Sarah DunnIf any of you read the fantastic Vintage Life Magazine you might have seen one of my styling guides. I’ve now submitted 6 styling guides in total with several more to come this year and all have been based on different but wearable vintage hairstyles that I wear myself or that customers regularly request. I’m now the magazine’s official ‘Vintage Hair Expert’ as well as regular contributor and really enjoying working with fab retro photographer Jez Brown and the great ladies who model for us to create the guides. Each of my how to’s features a step by step picture guide, along with lots of my tips and tricks for creating a fantastic vintage hairstyle. Vintage Life magazine not only features beauty and styling but a whole world of other vintage and retro inspired articles and photo shoots, making it a must buy for any vintage lover. So if you’d like to have a go at my guides you can pick up April’s issue, featuring my 1940s hair guide, from WHSmiths or Sainsbury’s or from VL’s online site here. They also do back issues so there’s no need to miss out on all my others guides too, just remember to send me a pic if you do try a style as I’d love to see the results.

Vintage Life Magazine.

Vintage Life Magazine.

Pictured below on the left is my most recent style currently available in this month’s (April) issue and it was inspired by the incredible woman who worked at Bletchley Park during WWII. To tie in with my 1940s Boutique days running on-site at the park I created an authentic 1940s victory roll style. More info on the workshop days can be found here.

March’s issue featured my spring look (pictured below on the left), a pretty style complete with a mass of pin curls. I’m a big  Carmen Miranda fan and her style definitely inspired me on this shoot, from the fruit necklace to the bright colours. This is a great hairstyle as it can be worn in a more 1950s or rockabilly way or with a snood for a more 1940s look.

Models: Left Kat, right Olivia. Hair and make-up by Sarah Dunn. Copyright of Jez Brown Photography

Models: Left Kat, right Olivia. Hair and make-up by Sarah Dunn. Copyright of Jez Brown Photography

For the February issue I created a heart shaped updo, that I first tried out here on the Three Belles calendar shoot, and it fitted perfectly for the magazine’s Valentine issue. This one was a little bit more complicated but here’s a great re-creation of it by the model, showing it was possible with a little patience and the help of a good friend! http://instagram.com/p/lrWZp8JXJl/

Model: Amy. Hair and make-up by Sarah Dunn. Copyright of Jez Brown Photography

Model: Amy. Hair and make-up by Sarah Dunn. Copyright of Jez Brown Photography

For Christmas’ December issue of the magazine I created something I thought the readers might like to re-create over the party season, it even included two different ways to wear the look if you had a few social engagements to attend that December. The style drew on the glamour of 1940s hair styles and I have worn it often as it’s easier to do than it looks and is very flattering.

Model: Alice. Hair and make-up by Sarah Dunn. Copyright of Jez Brown Photography

Model: Alice. Hair and make-up by Sarah Dunn. Copyright of Jez Brown Photography

Below left is the look that was featured in the October issue of 2013. I wanted to create a fun updo and this was based on another style I often wear, through styling it can be dressed up 1940s or 1950s so is a really great style to be able to do.

Which leads on to my first ever Vintage Life step by step picture guide, this was in the magazine’s July 2013 issue. This is a style I often get asked for in the parlour so seemed a really great style to start out with, I call it the ‘Rachel’ as it reminds me of the character from Bladerunner. I do love a big rolled fringe and so do my customers!

Models: Left Hannah, right Emily. Hair and make-up by Sarah Dunn. Copyright of Jez Brown Photography

Models: Left Hannah, right Emily. Hair and make-up by Sarah Dunn. Copyright of Jez Brown Photography

 Well I hope you have enjoyed a little journey through my guides, don’t forget to tweet me, facebook me or tag me on instagram if you try one of these!

doowopdo-signiture

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

