A Vintage Easter

This Easter has been a fantastic mix of work, rest and play. It started with a stunning wedding at the spectacular Fawsley Hall on Friday, where I created this vintage inspired bridal updo for beautiful bride Emma.

20140421-192725.jpg

The stunning bridal suite and beautiful bride.

Saturday saw my 2nd 1940s Boutique take place at Bletchley Park, where a great group of ladies really impressed me with the hair and make-up looks they created. My next session is Sunday May 25th and it only has a handful of spaces left but you can you can book your place for that here.

20140421-193133.jpg

Hard at work practising 1940s make-up.

20140422-003130.jpg

Creating a full victory roll at the 1940s Boutique.

On Sunday therefore I had a bit of a break so I met up with my good friend Kat, of Rose-tinted Vintage Bedford for a cuppa and to chat about her dressing up box service, expect a full post on this soon, and to do a bit of vintage rummaging together. We headed out to a lovely local art cafe called Coffee with Art and a vintage pop up shop by RedRock where most stock was just £1!!!! Needless to say I went a bit mad and came home loaded with bags, but at £1-£5 an item can you really blame me?

20140421-204157.jpg

Some of my £1 dress haul!

I even managed to pick up a dress to wear to my beautiful friend’s upcoming wedding this week, I’ll be doing her hair for the big day and I literally can’t wait! Not all items were ready to wear though and some required a little more vision and altering. I started by turning a long 70s kaftan into a fun Mexican style 1950s 2 piece (pictured below left) my bag here is made from a t-shirt I also picked up at the sale. In the evening I went out for drinks with a few friends and wore a few bits from my earlier haul. The skirt (pictured below right) was made from a lovely but rather frumpy dress I got at the sale so was perfect for cutting down & I teamed that with a peasant top I also pick up there, the boots and plaited updo were really added due to the fact it was chucking it down outside but ended up giving the whole look a distinctively Bavarian feel!

Left: My re-worked kaftan. Right: A re-worked 80s dress.

Left: My re-worked kaftan. Right: A re-worked 80s dress.

I hope everyone had a lovely Easter and got to enjoy a bit of time off. I’m now getting ready for various events, soon to be listed on the events page but the parlour is open for bookings so do drop me a line. doowopdo-signiture

2 thoughts on “A Vintage Easter

Leave a Reply

