Jessica Rabbit – Part One

20140518-191729.jpg On Sunday my friend and talented model Luna popped by the parlour for a makeover with a difference. This time rather than the usual vintage styling I was transforming her into one of her favourite cartoon ladies, Jessica Rabbit. We had been talking about doing a ‘Who Framed Roger Rabbit’ inspired shoot for a while and were both sad to hear about the death of legendary actor Bob Hoskins, as we grew up watching the film. I watched it again recently and was pleased to find it had lost none of it’s wacky charm. The photographer, Jez Brown, was shooting the photo’s in a noir style with a smoke filled club backdrop. I even got to operate the smoke machine! So, I wanted to create a more realistic version of Jessica to match the setting.

I decided to go for a dramatic, smokey eye look for the shoot, using Jessica’s signature purple colour. I used The Original Sleek palette which has some fab shimmery, strong purples, and the Sephora Moonshadow Baked Pallete in dark with more shimmery slivers and purples. The defined brow was done with Tropic Brow Define kit in Bistre and I used one of my favourite products; Illamasqua Precision Gel Liner in Infinity, for the cats-eye liner. I primed the skin with one of my favourite Smashbox Photo Finish primers and the rest was done using Mac products, face & body foundation and concealer kit. I did some light contouring for this look and added a dab of Boujour cream blush in Nude Velvet to finish. The lip was created using a Sleek lip palette and is a mix of the very bright Dita & darker Paris, to give a very full and glossy lip.

The finished make-up look.

The finished make-up look.

My gorgeous little pet skunk Rolo popped her head into the parlour while we worked. She’s got very good at knowing when people are around who might give her cuddles and so her and Luna got to know each other while I made us a cuppa.

20140518-191124.jpg

Luna has cuddles with Rolo.

The hair for this shoot was a little different this time around as I was working with a wig. Luna had chosen a beautiful rich red lace fronted wig. The lace front makes the it look much more natural and I really think the colour suited Luna. We all told her she could pull this off everyday! Although the wig was synthetic it was good quality so I could style it in the same way I would with natural hair. There was already a good curl set into the wig meaning I only had to do a bit of vigorous brushing to create the soft flowing waves I wanted for the shoot.  I used my new Denman dress-out and grooming brushes to create the waves and get Jessica’s trademark ‘peek-a-bo’ look. Although it’s very Veronica Lake in the film, I wanted more of a pin-up look so I created a big volumised S-Curl at the front of the head.

20140518-191740.jpg

The look comes together, I continued styling the hair at the shoot to get more waves into the hair.

20140518-191809.jpg

Making Jez play ‘patty cake’ with Jessica Rabbit!

I’m really looking forward to seeing the final edited pictures and will be posting a selection to follow. Don’t forget if you like my work that you can vote for me in the National Vintage Awards! I’d love to make it to the finals and there are only a few weeks left to vote so please do click through and vote if you haven’t already. I’m listed as Sarah Dunn in the Vintage Beauty and Grooming category and Luna is listed in the Best Pin-up Model category and we’d both love your support!

Vote here: http://thenationalvintageawards.co.uk/vote2014/
doowopdo-signiture

Leave a Reply

