Way Out There Hair!

Last Thursday I took part in a Pecha Kucha event hosted and organised by Katye Judge for Creative Bedfordshire and compared by the fabulous Eddie Addams. A few years ago I used to work for local arts charity Bedford Creative Arts ,who run the meetings, so I regularly took part. However, since becoming freelance there never seems to be the time and so I was excited to go back and get involved again and tell everyone about my new career.

Pecha Kucha is, as the flyer says a simple 20×20 presentation format. Each speaker has 20 images lined up and talks about each image for 20 seconds as they run along automatically, trust me it’s actually a lot easier than it sounds!

I decided on ‘Way Out There Hair’ as my presentation title and dug around in various computer folders for 20 images that would tell the story of my business and adventures in hair styling. Each image worked as a stimulus for an important moment in my business, like a picture of my first workspace at Rose-tinted Vintage or my last photo shoot before going fully freelance or just made a good anecdote, like the picture from the zombie shoot which was the time my poor boyfriend walked in on me painting a model bright green in our kitchen!

I was up first on the bill and with a packed room and the sound was being recorded I was definitely nervous but once up there I really got into it. The rest of the presentations were fantastic with some amazing themes and ideas being talked about from other local creative types such as Jo from School of Craft, Mr X-Stitch and Jo Atherton to name just a few!

It was definitely a very inspiring event and for anyone wanting to attend the regular creative meetings they run in Bedford on the first Thursday of every month and the details of each meeting can be found here. Also once the Pecha Kucha recordings are online I will definitely be sharing them on here for everyone to listen to.

20140609-095431.jpg

My way out there hairstyle for the talk.

20140609-095610.jpg

My partner Tom caught me mid-presentation.

10395839_10152338744846773_4521932995802903289_n

Looking out at packed room! Pic from Katye Judge.

A peek at my presentation images.

A peek at my presentation images.

doowopdo-signiture

Leave a Reply

