Awards Outfit.

10301353_10152930209500715_2652043159180799694_nLast week I packed my bags and headed off to Birmingham and the National Vintage Awards as I was one of three finalists in the Vintage Beauty and Grooming Award. Even though I didn’t win my category I partied the night away and had a fantastic couple of days in the city and got to meet up with some great people including the guys from Puttin’ on the Blitz, Jenny Frances who runs Frantic About Frances, artist Curios Pip, Kate and Keeley from the Vintage Academy and Shona from Heyday to name a few. I’ve worked in Birmingham a few times over the last year but never really got explore the city properly so this was a great excuse to do that.

I decided as it was such a hot day the best dress to wear to the awards was my green cotton senorita dress, I bought it from a Camden stall a few weeks ago and hadn’t had a chance to wear it yet. My friend Kat who runs Rose-tinted vintage lent me an under-skirt and belt that matched perfectly and I added a little gold horseshoe brooch I had picked up in a charity shop. My shoes were from Primark and I added some pom poms for a bit of fun. I matched my bangles to my colour scheme and took a wooden box bag I had picked up on a visit to Vintage Retreat in Northampton. I did my hair in my current favourite style, a rolled fringe with victory rolls and a twisted bun to one side, very Dita!

We were recommended a fantastic Mexican restaurant by a friend and Bodegos definitely has the best nachos I’ve ever eaten! Another friend also suggested a really fun bar, the Island Bar, so Tom and I headed there with stunning pin-ups Sailor Cherry & Goldy Loxx for post awards cocktails. As me and Tom were staying in Birmingham over night, on the following day we went to Ed’s Diner in the Bull Ring for breakfast and then had a day of vintage shopping in the cool Digbeth area where we picked up some amazing vintage pieces! Birmingham is such a fab city and I’m hoping to get back there soon to eat more great food, drink more fab cocktails and rummage around more great shops!

I want to end by saying a big thank you to all who voted for me to get me into the final, your support means a lot to me, I left my job this time 2 years ago to do Sarah’s Doo-Wop Dos full time and you guys make it all worth while!

doowopdo-signiture

Leave a Reply

