A Busy Week in Bedford.

This week has been a busy one as I’ve taught over 100 fantastic school kids how to do WWI hairstyles ( you can see pics of the fab styles they created here), I’ve created prom hair, run a vintage make-up & victory roll workshop at a hen party and  helped several brides plan their wedding hair. Plus I got some amazing pictures back from Jez Brown Photography of the Lego themed wedding of Tracy and Chris.

But this week wasn’t all work as I meet up with Nicole from The Hourglass and our partners to try out a new restaurant in town, BBQ Bob’s. It’s a fab American style restaurant, a really fun place, they do great cocktails and the food is delicious, so I’ll definitely be going back.

This weekend has been a busy one too, but also a lot of fun.  I spent Friday styling clients and then Saturday teaching at Chloe’s fab hen party in Rugby, where I taught a lovely group of ladies a vintage make-up and victory roll look before they headed out for cocktails. All of this meant today was a proper day off with absolutely no working, so I met up with friends and went shopping! I decided to check out the new vintage inspired dress shop in Bedford that opened on Saturday called Bohemian Finds (they have another store in Northampton) and, as well as drooling over their fab dresses from brands like Lindy Bop & Voodoo Vixen, I picked up a great turban. After a bit of playing around with it at home and some styling help from my friend Emma, I’m now completely won over by the style and may not be taking it off!

I also looked in on Carrie’s Handmade and Vintage Fair, part of the Castle Quarter Festival, where I picked up 2 gorgeous 1950s skirts from Throw Back‘s stand and my partner found some great men’s 1970s vests and shirts (be sure to check out both through the links.) As if that wasn’t enough, the lovely Jemma of Buttons and Bows (who had joined forces with Kat of Rose-tinted Vintage for the day) made me an amazing felted skunk brooch. As you may already know if you read this blog, I actually have a pet skunk and so this brooch is perfect for me. If you want your own creature brooch, she also makes Foxes and even flamingos  and you can often find her stand at local fairs.

As part of the festival my lovely friend Lisa of U Old Bag! had an open studio so I popped along to say hi and have a look at some of her lovely work. She even kindly gifted me a beautiful vintage, blue travel case. It’s absolutely perfect for carrying my shoot kit in and is the perfect colour to match my styling uniform, so thanks Lisa! I hope everyone has had a good week. I have lots more to tell you about workshops, events and other things over the next week.

doowopdo-signiture

Leave a Reply

