Kitsch Kitchen – Part 2

After my mammoth kitchen decorating session a few months ago (see full blog post here) I have carried on tweaking a few bits and pieces. Over the last few weeks I’ve found lots of great trinkets and even a light cover, see previous post for a picture. The only problem was how to display it all! As I move things around a lot, as I add to my collection, I need things to be free standing & not fixed. I finally came across the perfect unit in a charity shop and with a little elbow grease and a few spare hours I managed to match it perfectly to my kitchen. I painted it with matching paint & used old vintage magazines stuck down & varnished it so it all tied in with my kitchen work surfaces. Below are the pictures of the transformation:

My £10 charity shop find gets a makeover.

My £10 charity shop find gets a makeover.

20140807-094148.jpg

A few hours work, painting, collaging and varnishing and it’s done.

My shelves are now full of vintage goodies!

My shelves are now full of vintage goodies!

While I was in Wilkinsons buying the things to transform the shelving I  also found some pretty £4 polka dot blue vinyl that matched my kitchen. There was only one roll so I wasn’t sure if I would be able to use it but it turned out to be just enough to cover my fridge, I got the idea from a vintage advert I had used to wallpaper my living room! It’s another nice little, easy transformation that all adds to the look.

My vintage adverts that inspired my fridge transformation.

My vintage adverts that inspired my fridge transformation.

My £4 fridge transformation is complete!

My £4 fridge transformation is complete!

doowopdo-signiture

Leave a Reply

