The Cactus Club continues…

Lots of goodies for sale!

Lots of goodies for sale!

It’s not all vintage hair on here, recently I’ve been looking for inspiration in plants and the great outdoors for a little on going project I call the Cactus Club.

I started making these little felted brooches for friends when I was chilling out in front of the tv (because sitting still is not in my nature!) and now I will be selling them in Bedford on May 24th, 11am -3pm, at the Vintage and Handmade Mini Market at Animal Studios & Gallery. The event is being organised by Get Nailed by Keely and will be full of stalls selling cool & quirky things perfect for my little cacti collection!

To give this project a bit more to draw on I recently spent a very sunny day at the fantastic Kew Gardens strolling about in the sunshine and taking huge amounts of pictures for reference! I’d decided to visit after seeing pictures of a photo-shoot in the Palm House on Sally Forder’s instagram here (assistant photographer to the fab Binky Nixon) and knew it would be a place full of inspiration. While I did fall head over heels in love with the Palm House, even in the heat, it was the Prince of Wales Conservatory with it’s Cacti desert and tropical rain forest that really caught my attention for this project.

Being a vintage girl I wore one of my favourite vintage summer skirts for the visit, it has a pretty leaf motif and green ric-rac. I added a second hand, white blouse and green cardigan for a botanical feel and I wore a vintage straw hat and lots of hair flowers, excuse my comfy shoes we did  a lot of walking that day! As a final touch I added my watering can necklace from my friends at Claireabella’s Closet, perfect for a day in the garden! Below are a few picture from my visit, as you can see the weather was perfect!

Once home I had a huge array of new shapes and patterns to draw on so I re-arranged the craft room and started putting new pieces together. The brooches are made from felt that I hand stitched patterns onto and each one is a slightly different design. The brooches are priced between £4-£7 with the customised bags priced higher. Below are some of the results:

My love of all things Mexican is really growing, just see my instagram outfit posts for my collection of Mexican style circle skirts! I managed to score a little more inspiration last week when myself and a friend won a stack of vintage sombreros at a local auction house and so of course I had to add sombreros to the brooch collection!

I hope to see some of you at the mini market on the 24th but if you’d like to order yourself a little felt brooch and can’t make it to the event just email me on sarahsdoowopdos@gmail.com and I can sort out postage (I am currently only able to offer a postal service within the UK). Hope you all like the designs, I certainly had fun creating them and as the designs change and other creations get added you can expect more posts on the Cactus Club!doowopdo-signiture

Leave a Reply

