Beach Life

img_5026-1I hope everyone had a lovely bank holiday, as a hairstylist I spent the weekend working but I did find time to pay a flying visit to Brighton. Having lived there for many years it  was nice to visit again and this time I had the added bonus of seeing my gorgeous and talented friend Charlotte White of Restoration Cake in her new ‘Cake and Dessert Theatre’ at Foodie Festival.
Brighton is such a pretty place and having just designed a new turban with a nautical vibe it felt like the perfect place to get some photos! We spent the first day fabric shopping in the Lanes, where I got some amazing bargain vintage fabrics, plus buttons and belt buckles at Snooper Paradise. We then headed out with friends for drinks and dinner before a lovely second day with friends from home at the festival.
I decided to travel light (a real struggle especially when planning pics!) so wore my newly made nautical swing trousers. I picked up a cool stripey beach bag from a local charity shop that worked well as a handbag/overnight bag and then just took a few of my fave and easy to pack nautical feel tops.

The real focus of the look was my new ‘Beach’ style turban, made in my gorgeous new navy blue and ivory stripped fabric. I hate lugging curlers and styling products around with me when I go away, so the turban means I can just do a quick rolled fringe and hide the rest, see how I put my hair up for a turban over on my Facebook page here.

You can buy this turban and other versions from my Etsy shop here: https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/SarahsDooWopDos

img_5097

img_5118

Foodies Festival was great fun and after a relaxing stroll down the sea front and of course lots of photos in front of beach huts we spent a very relaxing day eating great food and having a few cheeky drinks on Hove Lawns! The highlight of the event was seeing my friend in her element demo-ing one of her recipes for Key-lime pie (inspired by the film Natural Born Killers!).

Charlotte was not only doing demos but also comparing the stage so we got to see other bakers and chefs too! So if you do like the sound of this you can find the rest of the festival dates on their website. Plus make sure to pop in and see Charlotte in action and best of all you might even get a delicious slice of freshly baked cake!

img_5119

We were super lucky with the weather and it was lovely to be back on my old stomping ground so I’m sure I’ll be back down soon!

Leave a Reply

