Summer Photoshoot!

Well it’s safe to say the weather forecast has given me a few sleepless nights recently! I’ve been planning a huge outdoor summer shoot for my summer turbans & sun was a must! Luckily we did the shoot yesterday at a local Marina and had the perfect weather.

My incredible friends James & Leanne (and coming in September baby Thomas) lent me their boat, The Barbarella, as our location and I really can’t thank them enough! This Instagram pic shows that while we might of shot in Bedford the look was pure vintage Riviera.


My inspiration came from 1950s resort wear (well I do live in palazzo style trousers!) and nautical themed vintage Hollywood shoots. On the day I had my usual dream team with me, model Patsypbl & photographer Jez Brown, who put up with watery wildlife, a bobbing boat and multiple outfit changes, to make my vision a reality! Plus the ever lovely Jo from Freddie’s of Pinewood kindly kitted us out with the perfect nautical wardrobe.

One of the great things about being a vintage hair and make-up artist is you can style up your own product shoots! I styled Patsy’s hair into a soft brushed out Pageboy shape, something with a glamorous look that had movement to it. The make-up was polished, pin-up with strong eyeliner and the perfect red lip, which I managed to apply on a moving boat, even if my lip brush did end up overboard later that day!!!

I’m so thrilled with the results, I’ll be flooding this blog and my social media pages with them soon. But for now here’s a little behind the scenes look..

After our boat antics we headed to a little wooded area to shoot part two. This was being done for my exciting collaboration with awesome raffia earring designer Heymuchita! We’ll be launching our collab fully in a few weeks so here’s a little sneak peek video & if you like what you see this turban will be available on pre-order from my Etsy shop very soon & you’ll be about to buying the perfect co-ordinating Fiesta earring from Heymuchita!


Leave a Reply

